Stillbirth Resources / Posted 1 year ago / 616 views
This resource is extremely personal to our family. When our daughter was born at almost 19 weeks, we were unaware that this resource existed. That day was the hardest day of my life and leaving the hospital without her was heartbreaking. I left with a box with pictures of her that were blurry and a folder of generic resources, but nothing that was specific to her. I was not offered a Social Worker, even after I requested one and had to make quick decisions that we honestly were not prepared to make without an advocate. I vowed that I would do everything I could to ensure that this NEVER happened to anyone else and this website was one of many things I came up with.
One of the resources, specific to Florida, is that you are able to obtain a Nonviable Birth Certificate. When I requested this, the hospital I delivered at had no clue of what I was asking for even though by law I should have been informed. My military provider and/or Social Worker also did not know of this so I fought to ensure that we got it and for them to complete the simple paperwork. I also tried to educate everyone I could on this resource! I was asked why is this is so important and my response was simple,”You have a birth certificate and/or proof of birth for your children right?” My daughter Saniyah existed and this documents that. I have a birth certificate for all my children and my daughter is no different.
I have learned that the law and regulations regarding Stillbirths and Fetal Demises vary from state to state. Most states have something similar to this, as this is a Florida Specific resource. I will continue to work to update resources and if you have any specific to the state you live in please message me so that I can add it to this resource list.
In 2017, the Florida Legislature established a new certificate entitled Certificate of Nonviable Birth (Section 382.0086, Florida Statutes).
A “nonviable birth” means an unintentional, spontaneous fetal demise occurring between the 10th through 19th week of gestation.
The health care practitioner (a nurse or midwife) licensed pursuant to Chapter 464 or Chapter 467
-If requested, file/register the nonviable birth within 30 days with the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
-Advise parent(s) on how to order a Certificate of Nonviable Birth from the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
The Certificate of Nonviable Birth is not proof of live birth and may not be used to establish identity.
Once filed by the health care practitioner (nurse or midwife) the parent(s) may request the Bureau of Vital Statistics issue a certificate of nonviable birth.
The Bureau of Vital Statistics will issue a Certificate of Nonviable Birth within 60 days upon the request. Parentage information is confidential and can only be released to the parent(s) listed on the certificate. Valid ID is required when requesting the confidential portion.
The fee for a certification of a Certificate of Nonviable Birth is $9; additional copies are $4 each if ordered at the same time. Check or money order should be made payable to Vital Statistics and must be in U.S. dollars. Florida law imposes an additional service charge of $15 for returned checks.
1) In person: Office of Vital Statistics 1217 N. Pearl StreetJacksonville, FL 32202
Hours: Mon —Fri 8:00am—4:30pm ET 904-359-6900
Same day service is not available
2) By Mail: Complete the convenient order form inside this brochure. The certification will be mailed within 60 days of receipt providing the record is on file.
RUSH service is provided for an additional $10. Rush orders are given priority processing. Please write RUSH on the outside of the envelope.